About District

Guntur District was formed on the 1st October, 1904 with Head Quarters at Guntur after bifurcating Krishna and Nellore districts. Prior to 1859 there was ‘Guntur District’ with Head Quarters at Guntur but with a different jurisdiction. In 1859, the district was abolished and was divided up between Machilipatnam and Rajahmundry districts which were renamed as Krishna and Godavari. In 1904 Guntur district was constituted into a separate independent district with the areas of the Taluka of Tenali, Bapatla, Guntur, Sattenapalli, Narasaraopet, Vinukonda and Palnadu of old Krishna district and Ongole taluk from Nellore district.

Tenali taluk was split on 1-7-1909 into two taluks namely Tenali and Repalle. This district was formed in 1904 was retained intact till February, 1970.

In February 1970, while forming a new District with Ongole as its head quarters parts of Bapatla and Narasaraopet taluks and the whole of Ongole taluk were taken to Prakasam District leaving Guntur district with only eight taluks namely 1) Guntur 2) Sattenapalli 3) Tenali 4) Repalle 5) Bapatla 6) Narasaraopet 7) Vinukonda and 8) Palnadu.

With effect from 1st November 1977 again, these eight taluks were reorganised into eleven taluks by upgrading the sub-taluks of 1) Mangalagiri 2) Ponnuru 3) Macherla as taluks bifurcating the old taluks of Guntur, Bapatla and Palnadu respectively.

Read More

Sri Nara Chandra Babu Naidu Hon'ble Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh
Sri P. Ranjit Basha, IAS Collector & District Magistrate, Bapatla